In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Out of Your Reach.”

I never got my robot.

When I was about 11 or 12 I wanted a real working robot so bad. I would ask my parents for one every Christmas and every birthday but unfortunately I never got my robot.

android-160572_640

I just couldn’t understand why no one that I knew loved me would buy me that most prized toy robot. I wanted one that would talk to me, walk with me, or even go to school with me.

I wanted a robot so bad that I thought that maybe I would be able to make one. My Dad was an electrician so I was sure that if I could just tear my GI Joe apart and feed wires through his body that he would be able to walk around and be my robot friend. Unfortunately I discovered much to my dismay that he was much more fun to play with in his original form. Thank goodness for understanding parents that were loving enough to buy me another one after my wiring experiment failed miserably.

figure-905029_640

It wasn’t until I got older that I realized that the problem was that no one had the technology to build a robot like I wanted. For that matter there is still only one that has been built that would measure up to the robot that I was looking for and he cost a lot of money.

Tony R

Leave a Reply

