In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “By the Dots.”

I have been ask to discuss my favorite punctuation. My favorite punctuation would have to be a comma.

Because of my use of commas I often have to go back and reread whatever I have just written, especially if it is something that is long, to ensure that I haven’t tied two sentences together that should be sentences alone. However they are very handy to tie two thoughts together in one sentence if used properly.

My favorite use of the comma is to interject a description or a side note into a sentence. I feel that by using the comma to interject a description, a side note, or even a pause in the flow of the sentence I am more able to control how the reader will interpret the sentence. Therefore I am able to predict what the reader maybe thinking at the time that he/she is reading the sentence. That’s what good writing is all about. If I can make the reader think very strongly about the fair in the first sentence then he will be able to taste the cotton candy that I hand him in the second sentence.

Yes I use commas and I am darn proud of it.

Tony R

Leave a Reply

