In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Papa Loves Mambo.”

When I was growing up I was exposed to most all styles of music. There was definitely a lean towards country music but we still listened to classical, 60’s and 70’s rock, and plenty of Gospel.

musician-349790_640

Being exposed to all types of music I feel made me a more rounded person. I feel that when we listen to a specific genre of music, as well as let ourselves be exposed to the artist that create that music, we are listening and experiencing the culture that has inspired that music. I believe that this is another reason that we should be aware of what kind of music we listen to. Being exposed to a culture can have positive and negative impacts on our lives. If a person has too much negative impact on their life through negative music they will begin to think negative. It can be a form of hypnosis but no one snaps their fingers to make it all go back to what it was.

masks-833421_640

It is good to be open to all different types of music and/or cultures but an open mind doesn’t have to mean a blind one. Listen and determine what is this music saying to me and do I want this bouncing around in my head all day? I think we should listen responsibly.

Tony R

5 thoughts on “The Music that I Grew up on

  1. I have heard it said (and believe whole heartedly) that the music we listen to in high school is the music we like for the rest of our lives. Even the terms we use to describe music have changed, as an example: Most “country” music today sounds more like the pop hits of the 1980’s…loud guitars and heavy drum lines…and as Corey Smith says, “If that’s really country, well then country really sucks”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey ASVU. You got that right. There are still a few of them new ones that I don’t mind but they will never compare to the ones that George Jones sang about when he sang “Who’s gonna fill their shoes.” I am pretty sure that the answer to that question is no one.

      Tony R

      Like

  2. Hi Tony,
    The music that I grew up on was Broadway show tunes. My happy place is with my husband and dogs. Right now, we are watching the Dodgers lose. Oops, they just lost. I like cycling too. I went in Alaska and Hawaii.
    I met you at Danny Ray’s Meet and Greet. Nice to meet you.
    Janice

    Like

    1. I enjoy being with my wife and cat as well Janice. Sorry for the Dodgers. Our family pulls for the Atlanta Braves. Did you get to cycle in Alaska? Did you have to run from any polar bears? I’ll bet that Hawaii was fun.
      Tony R

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

