Riding a Recumbent Bicycle Trainer

If it were up to me I would ride my bike 7 days a week or more but unfortunately there are these things called bills and they require me to work 10 and 12 hour days to pay them.

In the past I have been sneaking in a ride on any occasion that I could find. Take a day off, holiday, sick day, and when I could muster up the strength I would even ride after work.

My wife has a recumbent trainer that I have been reluctant to get on because I thought that it would be too different for me since I am so used to riding a standard road bike. However, since I have decided that I am going to train to ride a century (100miles) next year I figured that I am simply going to have to develop a consistent training schedule. So I decided to give the indoor bike a try. I have to admit that I was very pleasantly surprised at the workout I got from riding that bike.

exercise bike
exercise bike

My legs felt like they got the exact workout that I would receive on a standard bike but my core seems to have gotten twice the workout that it would have normally received. I am pleasantly surprised and I have decided that I will no longer assume that something will not work for me without trying it.

That’s all for now. See you on the road.

Sincerely, Tony R

Leave a Reply

